• Text smaller
  • Text bigger

The double-standards between what the Democrats were saying during the Nixon impeachment process and what they are saying now grow more glaring by the day.

One of the latest examples of demagoguery emanates from the John Conyers wing of the House Judiciary Committee. The effort to follow the letter of the Constitution in impeaching President Clinton is being characterized in the latest rhetorical overkill as “a coup.”

My friend Jerome Zeifman, former chief counsel of the House Judiciary Committee during the Watergate investigation, reminds us that, should Clinton be removed from office through the impeachment process, he will be replaced by Democratic Vice President Al Gore, his running mate in 1992 and 1996. That’s hardly a coup.

Yet, many of the same Democrats now calling the current impeachment process a coup were in 1973-74 actually trying to engineer just that.

“Ironically,” says Zeifman, “as reflected in my recent book and personal diary, at the time of Watergate the position then taken by Mr. Conyers and the Congressional Black Caucus was an effort to replace Republican Nixon with a Democrat, then-Speaker Carl Albert.”

Zeifman recounts in a memo to Henry Hyde and Bob Barr yesterday that during the confirmation hearings on the nomination of Gerald Ford as vice president, Conyers, Rep. Robert Drinan, Elizabeth Holtzman and others opposed Nixon’s selection, favoring impeachment first, which would have made Albert the president.

“The present House Democrats who are characterizing the pending articles of impeachment as an attempt at a ‘coup’ are bringing dishonor on themselves and the Democratic Party,” says Zeifman, a Democrat who favors impeachment on all four counts.

*

Is there any chance Clinton will actually be convicted in the Senate? John Fund of the Wall Street Journal had an interesting observation on Matt Drudge’s Fox News program this weekend.

“There won’t be a trial,” he said matter-of-factly.

Fund explained that any member of the Senate can move for adjournment of a trial before it even gets started. It takes only a majority vote to table it indefinitely. Only a handful of Republican votes would be needed to carry the day. Fund says he already knows of a couple GOP senators who would vote with the Democrats on such a motion.

*

Who are the key votes to target by Thursday?

The squishy Republicans are, along with phone numbers, fax numbers and, if available, email addresses:

Brian Bibray (CA-49) 202-225-2040; 202-225-2948
brian.bilbray@mail.house.gov

Sherwood Boehlert (NY-23) 202-225-3665; 202-225-1891
rep.boehlert@mail.house.gov

Tom Campbell (CA-15) 202-225-2631; 202-225-6788
campbell@mail.house.gov

Michael Castle (DE) 202-2254165; 202-225-2719
delaware@mail.house.gov

Lincoln Diaz-Balart (FL-21) 202-225-4211; 202-225-8576

Jay Dickey (AR-4) 202-225-3772; 202-225-1314
talk2jay@mail.house.gov

Michael Forbes (NY-1) 202-225-3826; 202-225-3143
ny01.forbes@mail.house.gov

John Fox (PA13) 202-225-6111; 202-225-3155
jon.fox@mail.house.gov

Bob Franks (NJ-7) 202-225-5361; 202-225-9460
franksnj@mail.house.gov

Wayne Gilchrest (MD-1) 202-225-5311; 202-225-0254

Benjamin Gilman (NY-20) 202-225-3776; 202-225-2541

David Hobson (OH-7) 202-225-4324

Sue Kelly (NY-19) 202-225-5441; 202-225-3289
dearsue@hr.house.gov

Ray LaHood (IL-18) 202-225-6201; 202-225-9249

Steve LaTourette (OH-19) 202-225-5731; 202-225-3307

Jim Leach (IA-1) 202-225-6576; 202-225-1278
talk2jim@mail.house.gov

Frank LoBiondo (NJ-2) 202-225-6572; 202-225-3318
lobiondo@mail.house.gov

John McHugh (NY-24) 202-225-4611; 202-225-0621

Constance Morella (MD-8) 202-225-5341; 202-225-1389
rep.morella@mail.house.gov

Bob Ney (OH-18) 202-225-6265; 202-225-3394
bobney@mail.house.gov

John Porter (IL-10) 202-225-4835

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL-18) 202-225-3931;

Marge Roukema (NJ-5) 202-225-4465; 202-225-9048

Jim Saxon (NJ-3) 202-225-4765; 202-225-0778

Clay Shaw (FL-22) 202-225-3026; 202-225-8398

John Shimkus (IL-20) 202-225-5271; 202-225-5880
shimkus@mail.house.gov

Joe Skeen (NM-2) 202-225-2365; 202-225-9599

W.J. “Billy” Tauzin (LA-3) 2-2-225-4031

James Walsh (NY-25) 202-225-3701; 202-225-4042

Zach Wamp (TN-3) 202-225-3271; 202-225-3494

Heather Wilson (NM-1) 202-225-6316; 202-225-4975

Democrats who are not sure:

Gary Condit (CA-18) 202-225-6131; 202-225-0819
rep.condit@mail.house.gov

Bud Cramer (AL-5) 202-225-4801;
budmail@mail.house.gov

Pat Danner (MO-6) 202-225-7041; 202-225-8221

Virgil Goode (VA-5) 202-225-4711; 202-225-5681
rep.goode@mail.house.gov

Bart Gordon (TN-6) 202-225-4231; 202-225-6887
bart.gordon@mail.house.gov

Ralph Hall (TX-4) 202-225-6673; 202-225-3332
rmhall@mail.house.gov

Lee Hamilton (IN-9) 202-225-5315; 202-225-1101
hamilton@hamilton.house.gov

Chris John (LA-7) 202-225-2031; 202-225-5724
christopher.john@mail.house.gov

Jay Johnson (WI-8) 202-225-5665; 202-225-5729
jay.johnson@mail.house.gov

Carolyn Maloney (CT-14) 202-225-7944; 202-225-4709
rep. carolyn.maloney@mail.house.gov

Paul McHale (PA-15) 202-225-6411; 202-225-5320
mchale@mail.house.gov

Mike McIntyre (NC-7) 202-225-2731; 202-225-5773
congmcintyre@mail.house.gov

James Moran (VA-8) 202-225-4376; 202-225-0017
jim.moran@mail.house.gov

John Murtha (PA-12) 202-225-2065;
murtha@mail.house.gov

Tim Roemer (IN-3) 202-225-3915; 202-225-6798
tim.roemer@mail.house.gov

John Spratt (SC-5) 202-225-5501; 202-225-0464
rep. spratt@mail.house.gov

Charles Stenhold (TX-17) 202-225-6605; 202-225-2234
taxes17@hr.house.gov

Gene Taylor (MS-5) 202-225-5772; 202-225-7074

James Traficant (OH-17) 202-225-5261; 202-225-3719
telljim@mail.house.gov

If you prefer to use a toll-free number to Congress to make your viewpoint known, a number has been provided very graciously by People for the American Way. To reach the Capitol switchboard, call 1-877-866-6836.

  • Text smaller
  • Text bigger
Note: Read our discussion guidelines before commenting.