• Text smaller
  • Text bigger

Hello, R2-D2. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday, May 7-9, you can
chat with some of the best-known “Stars Wars” actors from the first
three films in the series. On Friday, at 8 p.m. EDT and 5 p.m. PDT,
Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca, Hans Solo’s trusty sidekick) will be featured.
At 9 p.m. EDT and 6 p.m. PDT on Friday, it will be the turn of
Kenny Baker (who played R2-D2). On Saturday, at 5 p.m. EDT and 2 p.m.
PDT, the chat series continues with Jeremy Bulloch (bounty hunter Boba
Fett). The chats conclude on Sunday, at 4 p.m. EDT and 1 p.m. PDT, with
the biggest and baddest villain of them all, Darth Vader (actor David
Prowse).

All of these chats will take place on href=http://chat.yahoo.com>Yahoo! Chat. In light of the hype about
the new movie, it will be interesting to hear what these “veterans” have
to say about their experiences in the earlier flicks.

The Force Returns, Jedi or Not. May 19 is the big day, when
“Star Wars: Episode 1 — The Phantom Menace” opens in theaters. Time
magazine has devoted this week’s href=http://cgi.pathfinder.com/time/magazine/articles/0,3266,23302,00.html>cover
story to the first release of the proposed new trilogy.

The official site says you can
queue up for no more than 12 tickets beginning at 3 p.m. on May 12,
providing, of course, a theater near you sells advance tickets. For more
than a year, speculation on what we’ll see has been rife on the Web’s
more than 1,500 sites devoted to the Star Wars phenomenon. Check the
latest news and rumors at The
Force.Net
and Jedi.Net.

Thanks, Mom. Read the href=http://www.biography.com/features/mother/history.html>history of
Mother’s Day and biographies of 100 famous moms (from mother of
septuplets Bobbie McCaughey to the Queen Mum) at href=http://www.biography.com/features/mother>A&E’s mothers’ site.
If mom is online, send her a musical greeting from href=http://www2.cardmaster.com/Mothers-Day>Cardmaster. (Choices
include “for my wife” and “to Grandmother.” href=homearts.com/depts/family/00momdc2.htm>Home Arts offers essays
and articles about mothers and mothering, while href=http://www.holidays.net/mother>Mother’s Day on the Net invites
you to post a tribute to your mom or your memories, traditions and
customs of the day.

Kids can make Mother’s Day crafts and gifts and find games and
coloring books related to the holiday at href=http://www.billybear4kids.com/holidays/mother/mom.htm>Billy Bear 4
Kids and href=http://www.kidsdomain.com/holiday/mom/index.html>Kids Domain.

The Fifth Of May. No, the holiday doesn’t commemorate Mexican
independence. Instead, href=http://latino.sscnet.ucla.edu/cinco.html>Cinco de Mayo
celebrates a Mexican army victory over the French on May 5, 1862. In its
honor, send your friends a href=http://www.freewebcard.com/cards/cincodemayo>virtual greeting
card complete with lively music.

Who’s The Greatest Living Ballplayer? That’s the question
being asked at CBS Sportline’s href=http://cbs.sportsline.com/u/ce/feature/0,1518,960933_52,00.html>Historical
Matchup Tournament. Fans have begun to vote in a bracket format (1
vs. 8, 2 vs. 7) for position players. Cast your href=http://cbs.sportsline.com/u/baseball/mlb/1999/features/himatchup/index.html>ballot
each week to help decide which is better, Hank Aaron, Ted Williams, Ken
Griffey Jr., Willie Mays or Stan Musial. The pitchers’ contest begins
June 12.

Behind The Eight Ball. Do you remember the toy called the
Magic 8-Ball? You asked it a question and an enigmatic answer appeared,
which sometimes was so far off base as to be hilarious. Well, naturally,
boomers on the Web have kept this “all-knowing oracle” alive in several
different formats. Cure your indecision with a laugh by posing a query
and getting a reply from href=http://www.springfield-il.com/kids/8ball/8_ball.html>The Magic
8-Ball, The Public 8 Ball,
Ralph’s Executive
Decision Maker
and href=http://www.resort.com/~banshee/Misc/8ball>Mystical Smoking Head of
Bob (which is offered in numerous languages). If you’re curious
about what’s inside a Magic 8-Ball, find out when one is href=http://ofb.net/8ball/procedure.html>dissected.

Nominate A Hero. Newsweek is documenting the 20th century in a
slightly different way than other periodicals: It wants to find and tell
the stories of ordinary people who did extraordinary things — who
overcame great odds or who made a difference in the lives of others. The
weekly newsmagazine’s Web site is asking readers to nominate a href=http://myturn.newsweek.com>family hero by writing a 250-word
essay and submitting a photo anytime between now and Dec. 31. Editors
will choose the best entries, which will be featured on the site
beginning May 31 and in the December issue of Newsweek.

Whodunit. Last Thursday evening, the href=http://www.mysterynet.com/mwa>Mystery Writers of America
announced the winners of this year’s href=http://www.MysteryNet.com/edgars/1999>Edgars, the mystery
world’s Oscars, named, naturally, for that master of the macabre Edgar
Allan Poe. The Edgar pages are hosted by href=http://www.mysterynet.com>MysteryNet: The Online Mystery
Network, which is a delightful spot filled with information and
links for anyone who enjoys figuring out whodunit. Each day it features
a new mini-mystery for you to solve and a new episode of an interactive
mystery soap, as well as book and movie reviews, TV picks, polls related
to mysteries and lots of info about and from mystery authors and
discussions of various genres within the mystery field.

  • Text smaller
  • Text bigger
Note: Read our discussion guidelines before commenting.