A former Washington Post ombudsman has resigned in protest from the board of the National Press Foundation over an award to Fox News host Brit Hume.

Fox News host Brit Hume (Photo: Baltimore Sun)

Geneva Overholser, professor of journalism at the University of Missouri, told USA Today the NPF made a mistake deciding to give Hume its Taishoff Award as Broadcaster of the Year at a Feb. 19 awards dinner.

The Fox News managing editor and chief Washington correspondent does not deserve the award, Overholser contended, because he practices “ideologically connected journalism.”

“Fox wants to do news from a certain viewpoint, but it wants to claim that it is ‘fair and balanced,'” Overholser said. “That is inaccurate and unfair to other media who engage in a quest, perhaps an imperfect quest, for objectivity.”

However, a study released last June by the left-of-center media watchdog group FAIR found Hume’s daily program, Special Report, in the middle of the pack of major television newscasts in terms of fairness in its coverage of the Iraq war, the Baltimore Sun reported.

USA Today noted the chairman of the four-member panel that unanimously voted to give Hume the award, Ed Fouhy, was Hume’s boss when they worked for ABC News.

Past winners of the award include Cokie Roberts of ABC News, Bob Schieffer of CBS News, Peter Jennings of ABC News, Judy Woodruff of CNN, National Public Radio’s Nina Totenberg, Sam Donaldson of ABC News, Dan Rather of CBS News and Barbara Walters of ABC News.

Note: Read our discussion guidelines before commenting.