A Joint Resolution of the 97th Congress, signed by Speaker of the House Tip O’Neil and President of the Senate Strom Thurmond, declared a Year of the Bible. President Reagan signed it into law on this day, Oct. 4, 1982, stating: “Now, therefore, I, Ronald Reagan, president of the United States of America, in recognition of the contributions and influence of the Bible on our republic and our people, do hereby proclaim 1983 the Year of the Bible in the United States. I encourage all citizens, each in his or her own way, to re-examine and rediscover its priceless and timeless message.”

Note: Read our discussion guidelines before commenting.