February 28, 2013 at 11:34 AM EST
The world's largest passive Optical LAN saves energy and money for Sandia National Laboratories
Savings estimated at $20 million over 5 years

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Feb. 28, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- At Sandia National Laboratories, the world's largest passive Optical LAN now connects about 13,000 workstations in 265 buildings. Sandia National Laboratories started deploying Tellabs Optical LAN Solution in 2009 to replace an existing copper-based LAN. 

With Tellabs Optical LAN Solution, Sandia expects to save about $20 million in costs over 5 years, once the system is fully deployed.

Sandia National Laboratories featured on The Green Room

A video on the Sandia National Laboratories Optical LAN is scheduled on The Green Room on Fox Business News Network Saturday, March 2, at 11 a.m. (EST), 10 a.m. (CST), 9 a.m. (MST), and 8 a.m. (PST).

Tellabs Optical LAN Solution provides enterprises with high bandwidth, high security, lower energy usage and lower cost. Tellabs Optical LAN replaces conventional, copper-based LANs in buildings and on campuses with 500 or more workstations. With Tellabs Optical LAN, enterprises can save up to:

  • 70% of total cost of ownership
  • 80% of energy consumption
  • 90% of space requirements.

To extend its Optical LAN solution, Tellabs will ship the new Tellabs 120 mini-ONT, the world's smallest enterprise ONT, in the second quarter. The company is also investing in the sales channel to extend its distribution into enterprises.

About TellabsTellabs innovations advance the smart mobile Internet and help our customers succeed. That's why 80% of the world's top communications service providers and 39 of the Fortune 100 companies choose our mobile backhaul, packet optical, business and services solutions and applications. We help them get ahead by adding revenue, reducing expenses and optimizing networks.

Tellabs (Nasdaq: TLAB) is part of the NASDAQ Global Select Market, Ocean Tomo 300® Patent Index, the S&P MidCap 400 Index and several corporate responsibility indexes including the Maplecroft Climate Innovation Index, FTSE4Good and eight FTSE KLD indexes. http://www.tellabs.com 

Tellabs® and Tellabs logo are trademarks of Tellabs or its affiliates in the United States and/or other countries. Any other company or product names mentioned herein may be trademarks of their respective companies.

SOURCE Tellabs

Related Stocks:
Stock Market XML and JSON Data API provided by FinancialContent Services, Inc.
Nasdaq quotes delayed at least 15 minutes, all others at least 20 minutes.
Markets are closed on certain holidays. Stock Market Holiday List
By accessing this page, you agree to the following
Privacy Policy and Terms and Conditions.
Press Release Service provided by PRConnect.
Stock quotes supplied by Six Financial
Postage Rates Bots go here