(Daily Beast) -- When can a fetus feel pain? Utah Governor Gary Herbert valued an accountant’s answer to that question over the current medical consensus when he signed a law Monday requiring abortion providers to give fetuses anesthesia when performing an abortion after 20 weeks. It is the first law of its kind nationwide.
As The Salt Lake Tribune reports, Republican State Senator and Certified Public Accountant Curt Bramble sponsored SB 234 based on his belief that fetuses can feel pain beyond that point.
That belief is now codified into Utah state law. A section of SB 234 states that “substantial medical evidence from studies concludes that an unborn child who is at least 20 weeks gestational age may be capable of experiencing pain during an abortion procedure.”
Advertisement - story continues below