(Daily Mail) SpaceX’s Falcon Heavy embarked on its ‘most difficult mission yet’ this morning which saw the centre core dramatically explode as it crashed into the Atlantic Ocean.

After a three hour delay from its originally scheduled launch time of 11:30pm ET Monday night (04:30 BST Tuesday) due to ‘additional ground system checkouts’ it was pencilled in for a 2:30am ET (07:30 BST) take-off.

An initially textbook launch of the enormous rocket drew gasps and applause from onlookers at the Cape Canaveral, Florida site but 11 minutes in the mission was struck by problems when the centre core failed to land.

Note: Read our discussion guidelines before commenting.