(JERUSALEM POST) -- An application for a class-action lawsuit against Burger King was filed last Thursday in the Tel Aviv District Court after a religious man ate a cheeseburger at a branch that was presented as kosher and later discovered that the cheese was from cow's milk.
In recent months, Burger King has launched a campaign for kosher substitutes, such as burgers with "bacon" that is not made from pork but from turkey, as well as a "cheeseburger" that includes a vegan cheddar "cheese". That is: a religious person can eat a "cheeseburger" with "bacon" without violating the kosher laws of the Jewish religion.
Advertisement - story continues below
At the beginning of the month, the plaintiff arrived at the chain's branch in the Azrieli Hod Hasharon mall, outside of which is a Burger King sign that reads "kosher," and the plaintiff assumed that the branch was kosher.