Record 17 people are in Earth orbit at the same time right now

By Around the Web

(Image courtesy Pixabay)
(Image courtesy Pixabay)

(SPACE) – The total number of people in Earth orbit is now at a record high, though only for a short time.

With the launch of China’s three-person Shenzhou 16 mission on Monday (May 29) at 9:31 p.m. EDT (0131 GMT or 9:31 a.m. Beijing Time on May 30), the population in orbit grew to 17.

Get the hottest, most important news stories on the Internet – delivered FREE to your inbox as soon as they break! Take just 30 seconds and sign up for WND’s Email News Alerts!

The previous record, set during the privately funded Inspiration4 mission in September 2021, was 14 people.

Leave a Comment